Home  >  Science Research  >  Nano Defect and Spin Manipulation

Science Research

Nano Defect and Spin Manipulation

Nano Defect and Spin Manipulation Group


Front: Mei Yang, Prof. Zhi Wang, Prof. Han-Chun Wu (Supervisor), Tanhua Jia
Back: Ye-Cun Wu, Chen Yang, Xiao Liu, Dengyun Chen, Yanfeng Zhao
Not in picture: Dr. Cormac ó Coileáin, Dr. Hongjun Xu, Óscar Leonardo Camargo Moreita, Qian Wang

The Nano Defect and Spin Manipulation Group is a dynamical research group created by Prof Han-Chun Wu. At present, we have 2 Postdoctoral Researchers, 8 postgraduate students and 2 undergraduate students. We investigate elementary properties of materials and of nano-devices using both theoretical and experimental methods. Our ultimate goal is to design and prepare new materials for spintronics and information technology. One particular focus of our group at present is to understand how intrinsic and extrinsic defects will affect electronic, magnetic and transport properties of materials and accordingly engineer them to maximize performance. We are also interested in developing new method to manipulate the spin states of magnetic nanostructures.

We are fortunate to have access to a variety of state-of-the-art equipment and cutting-edge facilities through BIT and through international collaboration.

Selected Publications


1. Han-Chun Wu*, Cormac Ó Coileáin, Mourad Abid, Ozhet Mauit, Askar Syrlybekov, Abbas Khalid, Hongjun Xu, Riley Gatensby, Jing Jing Wang, Huajun Liu, Li Yang, Georg S. Duesberg, Hong-Zhou Zhang, Mohamed Abid, and Igor V. Shvets, Spin-dependent transport properties of Fe3O4/MoS2/Fe3O4 junctions, Scientific Reports x, xxxx (2015)


2. Li-Xian Wang, Yuan Yan, Liang Zhang, Zhi-Min Liao,* Han-Chun Wu,* Da-Peng Yu, Zeeman Effect on Surface Electron Transport in Topological Insulator Bi2Se3 Nanoribbons, Nanoscale 7, xxxx (2015)


3. Han-Chun Wu*, Alexander N. Chaika*, Tsung-Wei Huang, Askar Syrlybeko, Mourad Abid, Victor Yu. Aristov, Olga V. Molodtsova, Sergey V. Babenkov, Dmitry Marchenko, Jaime Sánchez-Barriga, Partha S. Mandal, Andrei Varykhalov, Yuran Niu, Barry E. Murphy, Sergey A. Krasnikov, Olaf Lübben, Jing-Jing Wang, Huajun Liu, Li Yang, Hong-Zhou Zhang, Mohamed Abid, Ching-Ray Chang, and Igor V. Shvets, Transport Gap Opening and High On-Off Current Ratio in Trilayer Graphene with Self-Aligned Nanodomain Boundaries, ACS Nano 9, 8967 (2015)


4Askar Syrlybekov, Han-Chun Wu*, Ozhet Mauit, Ye-Cun Wu, Pierce Maguire, Abbas Khalid, Cormac Ó Coileáin, Leo Farrell, Cheng-Lin Heng, Mohamed Abid, Huajun Liu, li Yang, Hong-Zhou Zhang, Igor V. Shvets, Electrical-field-driven metal-insulator transition tuned with self-aligned atomic defectsNanoscale 7, 14055 (2015)


5. Daniel Fox, Yangbo Zhou, Pierce Maguire, Arlene O'Neill, Cormac O'Coileain, Riley Gatensby, Alexey M. Glushenkov, Tao Tao, Georg S. Duesberg, Igor Shvets, Mohamed Abid, Mourad Abid, Han-Chun Wu, Ying Chen, Jonathan N. Coleman, John F Donegan, and Hongzhou Zhang, Nanopatterning and Electrical Tuning of MoS2 Layers with a Sub-Nanometre Helium Ion Beam, Nano Letters 15, 5307 (2015)


6. Han-Chun Wu*, Mourad Abid, Ye-Cun Wu, Cormac Ó Coileáin, Askar Syrlybekov, Jun Feng Han, Cheng Lin Heng, Huajun Liu, Mohamed Abid, and Igor V. Shvets, Enhanced Shubnikov-De Haas Oscillation in Nitrogen-Doped Graphene, ACS Nano 9, 7207 (2015)


7. Han-Chun Wu*, Ozhet Mauit, Cormac Ó Coileáin, Askar Syrlybekov, Abbas Khalid, Anas Mouti, Mourad Abid, Hong-Zhou Zhang, Mohamed Abid*, and Igor V. Shvets, Magnetic and transport properties of epitaxial MgFe2O4 thin film grown on MgO (100) by molecular beam epitaxy, Scientific Reports 4, 7012 (2014)


8. Han-Chun Wu*, Askar Syrlybekov, Ozhet Mauit, Cormac Ó Coileáin, Anas Mouti, Mourad Abid, Mohamed Abid*, and Igor V. Shvets, Magnetic and transport properties of stepped Fe3O4, Applied Physics Letters 105, 132408 (2014)


9. Yuan Yan, Zhi-Min Liao, Xiaoxing Ke, Gustaaf Van Tendeloo, Qinsheng Wang, Dong Sun, Wei Yao, Shuyun Zhou, Liang Zhang, Han-Chun Wu, and Da-Peng Yu, Topological Surface States Enhanced Photothermoelectric Effect in Bi2Se3 Nanoribbons, Nano Letters 14, 4389 (2014)


10. Jing-Jing Chen†, Han-Chun Wu†, Da-Peng Yu, and Zhi-Min Liao, Magnetic moments in graphene with vacancies, Nanoscale 6, 8814 (2014)


11. Jing-Jing Chen, jie Meng, Yang-Bo Zhou, Han-Chun Wu, Ya-Qing Bie, Zhi-Min Liao & Da-Peng Yu, Layer-by-layer Assembly of Vertically Architectured Graphene Devices, Nature Communications 4, 1921 (2013)


12. Han-Chun Wu*, Oleg N. Mryasov, Mohamed Abid, Kevin Radican, and Igor V. Shvets, Magnetization States of All-Oxide Spin Valves Controlled by Charge-orbital Ordering of Coupled Ferromagnets, Scientific Reports 3, 1830 (2013)


13. Byong S. Chun, Kyoung H. Kim, Niklas Leibing, Santiago Serrano-Guisan, Hans-Werner Schumacher, Mohamed Abid, In C. Chu, Oleg N. Mryasov, Do K. Kim, Han-Chun Wu*, Chanyong Hwang*, Young K. Kim*, Structural and Magnetic Properties of Epitaxial Co2FeAl Films Grown on MgO Substrates with Different Growth Temperature, Acta Materialia 60, 6714 (2012) (corresponding author)


14. Han-Chun Wu*, Zhi-Min Liao, R.G.S. Sofin, Gen Feng, A. B. Shick, Oleg N. Mryasov, and Igor V. Shvets, Mn2Au: body centered tetragonal bimetallic antiferromagnet grown by molecular beam epitaxy, Advanced Materials 24, 6374 (2012)


15. Han-Chun Wu*, R. Ramos, R. G. S. Sofin, Zhi-Min Liao, M. Abid, and I. V. Shvets, Bias dependence of transverse magneto-resistance in epitaxial Fe3O4 and Fe3O4/NiO exchange biased system, Applied Physics Letters 101, 052402 (2012)


16. Zhi-Min Liao, Han-Chun Wu*,, Qiang Fu, Xuewen Fu, Xinli Zhu, Jun Xu, Igor V. Shvets, Zhuhua Zhang, Wanlin Guo, Yamin Leprince-Wang, Qing Zhao, Xiaosong Wu, Dapeng Yu*, Strain-Induced Exciton Fine-Structure Splitting and Shift in ZnO Microwires, Scientific Reports 2, 452 (2012) (equal contribution and corresponding author)


17. Zhi-Min Liao*,, Han-Chun Wu*,, S. Kumar, G. S. Duesberg, G.L.W. Cross, I. V. Shvets, and Da-Peng Yu, Large Magnetoresistance in Graphene Stack with Current Perpendicular to Plane Geometry, Advanced Materials 24, 1862 (2012) (equal contribution and corresponding author)


18. Li He, Z. M. Liao*, Han-Chun Wu*, X. X. Tian, D. S. Xu, G. L. W. Cross, G. S. Duesberg, I. V. Shvets, and D. P. Yu*, Memory and Threshold Resistance Switching in Ni/NiO Core/Shell Nanowires, Nano Letters 11, 4601 (2011) (corresponding author)


19. Han-Chun Wu*, M. Abid, B. S. Chun, R. Ramos, O. N. Mryasov, and I. V. Shvets, Probing one antiferromagnetic anti-phase boundary and single magnetite domain using nanogap contacts, Nano Letters 10, 1132 (2010)




Prof. Ching-Ray Chang

Vice president, National Taiwan University


Prof. Igor V. Shvets

Head of School of Physics, Trinity College Dublin


Prof. Mohamed Abid

KSU-aramco Center, King Saud University


Prof. Oleg N. Mryasov

Senior Technologist System Arch. at Western Digital


Prof. Zhi-Min Liao

School of Physics, Peking University


Prof. Byong Sun Chun

KRISS, Korea


Prof. Huajun Liu

Institute of Plasma Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences


Prof. Xiangdong Zhang

School of Physics, Beijing Institute of Technology


Prof. Yugui Yao

School of Physics, Beijing Institute of Technology


Prof. Binsuo Zou

School of Physics, Beijing Institute of Technology


Contact Us


Han-Chun Wu, Ph.D.


Professor of Physics


School of Physics


Beijing Institute of Technology


Beijing 100081, China


Tel: +8618600362730


Email: wuhc@tcd.ie; wuhc@bit.edu.cn


Release date:2015-10-16